hello! Libera from a Music Teacher standpoint

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Moderator: Moderators

mbbrose

hello! Libera from a Music Teacher standpoint

Post by mbbrose »

Hello! I have come to this forum before but have not really posted. I have followed Libera for about 8 years. I first saw the group on PBS doing their Leiden concert. I was about 15 at the time and participating in music at school. I was amazed at the age and quality of the performance. I grew up singing in a choir as a "treble" as my dad is an organist. I'm very familiar with the Anglican choral tradition, so to learn about Libera's background as St. Philip's made them very relatable.

Now at the age of 22 in my final semester as a Music Education student I look at Libera from a different perspective. I work in music settings with kids that are the same ages as those in Libera. What I would give to have a cup of coffee and talk about music education with Rob Prizeman...

I show clips from concerts to the students I work with in a choir. Showing clips is particularly helpful in getting boys (age 9-12) to access their high register. The clips have also helped stage presence and performance confidence! We don't sing Libera's songs but there is a lot to learn from their stage presence and vocal quality. I also show interview clips because it makes the performances personable to kids their own age.